Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


April 9, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- - The following awards were presented by the National Association of Basketball Coaches for achievements during the 2008-09 season or for career achievements in college basketball.

Naismith Trophy - Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

NABC/Pete Newell Big Man of the Year, Presented by YRC Worldwide - Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

NABC Defensive Player of the Year - Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut

NABC Career Achievement Awards - Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina; Daren Collison, UCLA; Jerel McNeal, Marquette; Terrence Williams, Louisville

State Farm Coaches' Division I Player of the Year - Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

State Farm Coaches' Division II Player of the Year - Josh Bostic, Findlay

State Farm Coaches' Division III Player of the Year - Jimmy Bartolotta, MIT

State Farm Coaches' NAIA Division I Player of the Year - Geoff Payne, Westminster College (Utah)

State Farm Coaches' NAIA Division II Player of the Year - William Walker, Bethel

State Farm Coaches' NJCAA Player of the Year - Nafis Ricks, Johnson County Community College, (Kan.)

NABC Division I Coach of the Year - Mike Anderson, Missouri and John Calipari, Memphis

NABC Division II Coach of the Year - Ron Niekamp, Findlay

NABC Division III Coach of the Year - Mark Edwards, Washington University (St. Louis)

NABC NAIA Division I Coach of the Year - Ralph Turner, Union University (Tenn.)

NABC NAIA Division II Coach of the Year - Donnie Bostwick, Oklahoma Wesleyan

NABC NJCAA Coach of the Year - Mike Jeffers, Johnson County Community College, (Kan.)

NABC/Hillyard Golden Anniversary Award - Dale Brown, LSU

NABC Literacy Champion Award - Howie Dickenman, Central Connecticut State

NABC Coaches vs. Cancer Champion Award - Tom Izzo, Michigan State

NABC Guardians of the Game Pillar Awards

Advocacy - Mike Turner, Albion College

Education - (presented by The Hartford) Dr. Claudie Mackey, Elizabeth City State

Leadership - George Blaney, Connecticut

Service - Ron Hunter, IUPUI

NABC/Cliff Wells Appreciation Award - Dr. Myles Brand, NCAA President

Metropolitan Award - Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

NABC Ray Marquette Award - Dick Jerardi, Philadelphia Daily News (President, U.S. Basketball Writers Assn)

Newton S. Hillyard Award (Outgoing NABC President) - Tubby Smith