Ray Marquette Award

The Ray Marquette Award is annually presented to the outgoing president of the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The award is named in honor of the late Ray Marquette of the Indianapolis Star. A longtime friend of the NABC, Marquette served as the USBWA's executive director from 1969 until his untimely death in 1977.

1978 Edgar Allen, Nashville Banner
1979 Sam Skinner, Skinner Sports Syndicate
1980 Dave Dorr, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
1981 Bill Brill, Roanoke Times/World News
1982 Frank Boggs, Colorado Springs Sun
1983 Bob Hammel, Bloomington Herald-Telegram
1984 Marvin West, Knoxville News-Sentinel
1985 Lee Benson, Salt Lake City Deseret News
1986 Bill Millsaps, Richmond Times Dispatch
1987 Larry Donald, Basketball Times
1988 Larry Donald, Basketball Times
1989 Malcolm Moran, New York Times
1990 Gary Nuhn, Dayton Daily News
1991 Randy Riggs, Austin American-Statesman
1992 John Feinstein, Washington Post
1993 Bud Withers, Seattle Post Intelligencer
1994 Dick Weiss, New York Daily News
1995 Wendell Barnhouse, Ft. Worth Star-Telegram
1996 Mike DeCourcy, Memphis Commercial Appeal
1997 Steve Wieberg, USA Today
1998 Jim O'Connell, Associated Press
1999 Bill Benner, Indianapolis Star
2000 Alex Wolff, Sports Illustrated
2001 Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star
2002 Bob Ryan, Boston Globe
2003 Steve Richardson, Dallas Morning News
2004 Rick Bozich, Louisville Courier Journal
2005 Robyn Norwood, Los Angeles Times
2006 Tony Barnhart, Atlanta Journal-Constitution
2007 Tom Shatel, Omaha World Herald
2008 Andy Katz, ESPN
2009 Dick Jerardi, Philadelphia Daily News
2010 Steve Carp, Las Vegas Review-Journal
2011 Bryan Burwell, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
2012 Lennox Rawlings, Winston-Salem Journal
2013 John Akers, Basketball Times
2014 Kirk Wessler, Peoria Journal Star
2015 Dana O'Neil, ESPN
2016 Pat Forde, Yahoo Sports